International Ice Hockey Federation

First Olympians named

First Olympians named

Canadian women’s team formed for Sochi 2014

Published 08.01.2014 22:03 GMT+4 | Author Martin Merk
First Olympians named
Veteran trio: Canada’s Caroline Ouellette, Haley Wickenheiser and Jayna Hefford will play their fourth and fifth Olympics respectively in Sochi. Photo: Dave Sandford / HHOF-IIHF Images
Hockey Canada announced the 21-player roster nominated to represent Canada’s National Women’s Team at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi.

Canada’s National Women’s Team includes three goaltenders, six defencemen and 12 forwards. The roster nominated to the Canadian Olympic Team includes:

  • 12 players (Agosta-Marciano, Apps, Hefford, Irwin, Johnston, Labonté, Mikkelson, Ouellette, Poulin, Szabados, Ward and Wickenheiser) who won the gold medal at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, B.C.; 
  • six players (Agosta-Marciano, Apps, Hefford, Labonté, Ouellette and Wickenheiser) who won the gold medal at the 2006 Olympic Winter Games in Torino, Italy;
  • three players (Hefford, Ouellette and Wickenheiser) who won the gold medal at the 2002 Olympic Winter Games in Salt Lake City, Utah.
  • For Hefford and Wickenheiser, Sochi 2014 will be the fifth Olympic tournament since Nagano 1998.

Defenceman Courtney Birchard, along with forwards Vicki Bendus and Bailey Bram, have been released from the team.

Canada’s National Women’s Team will attempt to win its fourth-straight gold medal at the Olympic Winter Games when the puck drops in Sochi.

“Narrowing our roster down was extremely difficult due to the depth of the female game in our country, but we’re absolutely thrilled to announce the 21 players who will defend our gold medal in Russia,” Canada’s National Women’s Team head coach Kevin Dineen said. “We’re confident the players who will travel this final stretch on the Road to Sochi will do so with passion, perseverance and performance that will make all Canadians proud.”

Continue reading

“Congratulations to all 21 of our players on being named to the Canadian Olympic Team,” Hockey Canada president and CEO Bob Nicholson said. “We look forward to seeing all of your hard work pay off when the puck drops in Sochi, and we know that you will represent our country with heart and soul, both on and off the ice.”

Sochi 2014 will mark the fifth time women’s hockey has been part of the Olympic Winter Games. In addition to its three gold medals, Canada’s National Women’s Team also claimed the silver medal at the 1998 Olympic Winter Games in Nagano, Japan, the inaugural event for the female game.

“Our Canadian women have a tremendous record when it comes to achieving results at the Olympic Games and the players nominated to represent our nation in Sochi will certainly carry on that tradition of excellence,” Canadian Olympic Committee president Marcel Aubut said. “On behalf of the entire Canadian Olympic family, I want to congratulate each player nominated and wish them all the best as they continue their preparations to defend Olympic gold.”

“Congratulations to the athletes named today to Canada's National Women's Hockey team," said the Honourable Jason Kenney, Minister of Employment and Social Development and Minister for Multiculturalism. "With a proud history of three consecutive gold medals at the Olympic Winter Games, our players prove time and time again that they are among the best in the world. All Canadians from coast to coast to coast will be cheering you on as you strive once again for Olympic glory next year in Sochi.”

The women’s hockey tournament runs from Saturday, Feb. 8, when Canada takes on Switzerland on the opening day, and culminates Thursday, Feb. 20 with the gold medal game. In the Olympic preliminary round, Canada also faces off against Finland on Monday, Feb. 10 and the United States on Wednesday, Feb. 12. Quarterfinals are set for Saturday, Feb. 16, while semifinals are scheduled for Monday, Feb. 17.

All games except for the medal round games take place at Shayba Arena. Medal games are set for Thursday, Feb. 20 at the Bolshoy Ice Dome in Sochi.

Before heading to Russia, Canada faces off against the United States in the final two games of a six-game exhibition series. The puck drops at 4 p.m. ET this Saturday, Dec. 28 at the Xcel Energy Centre in St. Paul, Minnesota, and then again at 7 p.m. ET next Monday, Dec. 30 at the Air Canada Centre in Toronto, Ont.

Charline Labonté, Montreal Stars (CWHL)
Geneviève Lacasse, Boston Blades (CWHL)
Shannon Szabados, Northern Alberta Institute of Technology (ACAC)

Laura Fortino, Cornell University (NCAA)
Jocelyne Larocque, Calgary Inferno (CWHL)
Meaghan Mikkelson, Calgary Inferno (CWHL)
Lauriane Rougeau, Cornell University (NCAA)
Catherine Ward, Montreal Stars (CWHL)
Tara Watchorn, Calgary Inferno (CWHL)

Meghan Agosta-Marciano, Montreal Stars (CWHL)
Gillian Apps, Brampton Thunder (CWHL)
Mélodie Daoust, McGill University (CIS)
Rebecca Johnston, Toronto Furies (CWHL)
Jayna Hefford, Brampton Thunder (CWHL)
Haley Irwin, Montreal Stars (CWHL)
Brianne Jenner, Cornell University (NCAA)
Caroline Ouellette, Montreal Stars (CWHL)
Marie-Philip Poulin, Boston University (NCAA)
Natalie Spooner, Toronto Furies (CWHL)
Jennifer Wakefield, Toronto Furies (CWHL)
Hayley Wickenheiser, University of Calgary (CIS)


Back to Overview