International Ice Hockey Federation

Experienced troop

Experienced troop

German women combine for over 3,000 games

Published 16.01.2014 13:55 GMT+4 | Author Martin Merk
Experienced troop
From left to right: assistant coach Benjamin Hinterstocker, forwards Manuela Anwander and Julia Zorn, and head coach Peter Kathan. Photo:
The German Ice Hockey Association named the women’s hockey national team for the 2014 Olympic Winter Games on Wednesday.

The formal nomination of the 21 athletes will be done on 23rd January by the German Olympic Committee.

The Germans will have one of the most experienced squads in Sochi that combines for over 3,000 international games played including defenceman Bettina Evers with 314 games, forward Maritta Becker with 269 games, defenceman Susann Götz with 235 games, and forwards Franziska Busch and Andrea Lanzl with 220 and 202 games respectively.

For 31-year-olds Becker and Evers it will be the third Olympics while 18-year-old forward Kerstin Spielberger is the youngest player on the team. Becker staged her comeback last season after a five-year break from international ice hockey.

All of the players come from German club teams except Tanja Eisenschmid and Anja Weisser, who play for North American college teams. Several players were in an army sport program to prepare for the Olympics under professional conditions.

While the German men’s national team missed out on qualifying for the Olympics for the first time in decades, the women’s national team returns to the Olympic stage following its last appearance in Turin 2006. In the Final Olympic Qualification event on home ice in Weiden, the team coached by Peter Kathan defeated Vancouver 2010 participants China, the Czech Republic and Kazakhstan.

During the press conference in Munich, the German Ice Hockey Association also presented its retro jerseys that will be exclusively used by the women’s national team in Sochi.

Continue reading

Coach Kathan said the team wants to confirm the fifth-place finish the team had in its last Olympics in 2006 and in the recent 2013 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship.

Viona Harrer, EC Bad Tölz (GER)
Jennifer Harss, ERC Sonthofen (GER)
Ivonne Schröder, Tornado Niesky (GER)

Tanja Eisenschmid, University of North Dakota (NCAA)
Bettina Evers, ESC Planegg-Würmtal (GER)
Susanne Fellner, Memmingen Indians (GER)
Daria Gleissner, Memmingen Indians (GER)
Susann Götz, OSC Berlin (GER)
Jessica Hammerl, TSV Erding (GER)
Anja Weisser, University of Prince Edward Island (CIS)

Manuela Anwander, ERC Ingolstadt (GER)
Maritta Becker, ERC Ingolstadt (GER)
Monika Bittner, ESC Planegg-Würmtal (GER)
Franziska Busch, Memmingen Indians (GER)
Jacqueline Janzen, Memmingen Indians (GER)
Nina Kamenik, OSC Berlin (GER)
Sophie Kratzer, ESC Planegg-Würmtal (GER)
Andrea Lanzl, ERC Ingolstadt (GER)
Sara Seiler, ERC Ingolstadt (GER)
Kerstin Spielberger, EHC Klostersee (GER)
Julia Zorn, ESC Planegg-Würmtal (GER)


Back to Overview