International Ice Hockey Federation

Austria adds Lange, Nodl

Austria adds Lange, Nodl

Weinhandl and Kristler miss Olympics

Published 30.01.2014 13:43 GMT+4 | Author Martin Merk
Austria adds Lange, Nodl
Andreas Nodl (right, against Latvia’s Guntis Dzerins) will play his first major tournament with Austria since the 2009 IIHF World Championship. Photo: Matthew Manor / HHOF-IIHF Images
With today’s nomination by the Austrian Olympic Committee, two changes were announced in the roster of the Austrian men’s national team.

Goalkeeper Fabian Weinhandl was replaced with Mathias Lange, who plays for the Iserlohn Roosters in Germany.

Red Bull Salzburg forward Andreas Kristler was replaced by his teammate Andreas Nodl, who returned to Austria earlier this season after five years with NHL organizations.

“Both Lange and Nodl have developed very well in the last few weeks,” said Austria’s national team coach Manny Viveiros. “I think we have a very good team which will represent Austria at the Olympics. The team will make us all proud.”

The Austrian Ice Hockey Association also announced the three replacement players who will be with the team until the three NHL players arrive in Sochi: defenceman Dominique Heinrich (Salzburg), and forwards Rafael Rotter (Vienna) und Markus Peintner (Villach).

Austria will play an exhibition game against Denmark in Vienna on 4th February (20:20) before departing to Sochi.

Austrian national team as of 27 January

Bernhard Starkbaum, Brynas Gavle (SWE)
Rene Swette, KAC Klagenfurt (AUT)
Mathias Lange, Iserlohn Roosters (GER)

Mario Altmann, VSV Villach (AUT)
Florian Iberer, KAC Klagenfurt (AUT)
Andre Lakos, Vienna Capitals (AUT)
Robert Lukas, EHC Linz (AUT)
Thomas Pock, KAC Klagenfurt (AUT)
Matthias Trattnig, Red Bull Salzburg (AUT)
Stefan Ulmer, HC Lugano (SUI)
Gerhard Unterluggauer, VSV Villach (AUT)

Continue reading

Michael Grabner, New York Islanders (NHL)
Raphael Herburger, EHC Biel (SUI)
Thomas Hundertpfund, Timra IK (SWE)
Matthias Iberer, EHC Linz (AUT)
Thomas Koch, KAC Klagenfurt (AUT)
Manuel Latusa, Red Bull Salzburg (AUT)
Brian Lebler, EHC Linz (AUT)
Andreas Nodl, Red Bull Salzburg (AUT)
Daniel Oberkofler, EHC Linz (AUT)
Michael Raffl, Philadelphia Flyers (NHL)
Thomas Raffl, Red Bull Salzburg (AUT)
Oliver Setzinger, Lausanne HC (SUI)
Thomas Vanek, New York Islanders (NHL)
Daniel Welser, Red Bull Salzburg (AUT)


Back to Overview