International Ice Hockey Federation

Selänne off to sixth Olympics

Selänne off to sixth Olympics

Finland, Latvia, Slovakia announce rosters

Published 07.01.2014 21:24 GMT+4 | Author Adam Steiss
Selänne off to sixth Olympics
Finland, Latvia and Slovakia have named their squads for Sochi 2014.

Finland’s team features as expected the NHL goaltending trio of Antti Niemi, Tuukka Rask, and Kari Lehtonen, considered to be among the world’s top netminders.

In all, 16 NHLers will be featured on the Finnish team, although Minnesota Wild captain Mikko Koivu’s status has been thrown into question after the forward sustained a broken ankle during a game on 4 January against the Washington Capitals. Teemu Selänne will become the second ice hockey player to have participated in six Olympics, joining another Finn with the same attendance record, Raimo Helminen.

Slovakia’s strength will come from its defence, anchored by Zdeno Chara of the Boston Bruins. Martek Marincin, Andrej Meszaros, Andrej Sekera form a strong defensive corps, one that could be further bolstered by New York Islanders D-man Lubomir Visnovsky. Although Visnovsky was selected, he has been hampered by the effects of a concussion sustained earlier in the season and has yet to return to the ice.

On offence, the points are expected to come as usual from the two Marians, Gaborik and Hossa, and Michal Handzus of the Chicago Blackhawks. In all, 14 players will be joining the team from the NHL, another 10 from the KHL, including three from Slovak club team Slovan Bratislava, and one, Tomas Marcinko, from the Slovak Extraliga.

Only one NHL player will be featured on Latvia’s 2014 Olympic team: 20-year-old forward Zemgus Girgensons of the Buffalo Sabres. The team could benefit from the familiarity between the players of this small hockey nation. Of the 13 KHL players on the Olympic roster, eight are from the club team Dinamo Riga.

Kaspars Daugavins of Genève-Servette HC, who was a key player in the country’s Olympic qualification campaign, will head to Sochi. Kristers Gudlevskis of the AHL’s Syracuse Crunch will likely get the first shot at the starting goaltender position.  

Continue reading


Kari Lehtonen, Dallas Stars (NHL)
Antti Niemi, San Jose Sharks (NHL)
Tuukka Rask, Boston Bruins (NHL)

Lasse Kukkonen, Kärpät Oulu (FIN)
Juuso Hietanen, Torpedo Nizhni Novgorod (RUS)
Sami Lepistö, Avtomobilist Yekaterinburg (RUS)
Olli Määttä, Pittsburgh Penguins (NHL)
Sami Salo, Tampa Bay Lightning (NHL)
Kimmo Timonen, Philadelphia Flyers (NHL)
Ossi Väänänen, Jokerit Helsinki (FIN)
Sami Vatanen, Anaheim Ducks (NHL)

Juhamatti Aaltonen, Kärpät Oulu (FIN)
Aleksander Barkov, Florida Panthers (NHL)
Valtteri Filppula, Tampa Bay Lightning (NHL)
Mikael Granlund, Minnesota Wild (NHL)
Jussi Jokinen, Pittsburgh Penguins (NHL)
Olli Jokinen, Winnipeg Jets (NHL)
Mikko Koivu, Minnesota Wild (NHL)
Leo Komarov, Dynamo Moscow (RUS)
Petri Kontiola, Traktor Chelyabinsk (RUS)
Lauri Korpikoski, Phoenix Coyotes (NHL)
Jori Lehterä, Sibir Novosibirsk (RUS)
Antti Pihlström, Salavat Yulayev Ufa (RUS)
Tuomo Ruutu, Carolina Hurricanes (NHL)
Teemu Selänne, Anaheim Ducks (NHL)




Kristers Gudlevskis, Syracuse Crunch (AHL)

Edgars Masalskis, no club team

Ervins Mustukovs, Esbjerg IK (DEN)



Oskars Bartulis, Donbass Donetsk (UKR/KHL)

Ralfs Freibergs, Bowling Green State University (NCAA)

Arturs Kulda, Salavat Yulayev Ufa (RUS)

Sandis Ozolins, Dinamo Riga (LAT/KHL)

Georgijs Pujacs, Dinamo Riga (LAT/KHL)

Krisjanis Redlihs, Dinamo Riga (LAT/KHL)

Arvids Rekis, Dinamo Riga (LAT/KHL)

Kristaps Sotnieks, Dinamo Riga (LAT/KHL)



Armands Berzins, Beibarys Atyrau (KAZ)

Martins Cipulis, Dinamo Riga (LAT/KHL)

Lauris Darzins, no club team

Kaspars Daugavins, Genève-Servette HC (SUI)

Zemgus Girgensons, Bufalo Sabres (NHL)

Miks Indrasis, Dinamo Riga (LAT/KHL)

Koba Jass, Bili Tygri Liberec (CZE)

Martins Karsums, Dynamo Moscow (RUS)

Ronalds Kenins, ZSC Lions Zurich (SUI)

Vitalijs Pavlovs, Dinamo Riga (LAT/KHL)

Mikelis Redlihs, Lokomotiv Yaroslavl (RUS)

Janis Sprukts, Lokomotiv Yaroslavl (RUS)

Juris Stals, HK Poprad (SVK)

Herberts Vasiljevs, Krefeld Pinguine (GER)





Peter Budaj, Montreal Canadiens (NHL)

Jaroslav Halak, St. Louis Blues (NHL)

Jan Laco, Donbass Donetsk (UKR/KHL)



Ivan Baranka, Avangard Omsk (RUS)

Dominik Granak, Dynamo Moscow (RUS)

Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins (NHL)

Martin Marincin, Edmonton Oilers (NHL)

Andrej Meszaros, Philadelphia Flyers (NHL)

Andrej Sekera, Carolina Hurricanes (NHL)

Michal Sersen, Slovan Bratislava (SVK/KHL)

Lubomir Visnovsky, New York Islanders (NHL)


Milan Bartovic, Slovan Bratislava (SVK/KHL)

Marian Gaborik, Columbus Bluejackets (NHL)

Michal Handzus, Chicago Blackhawks (NHL)

Marcel Hossa, Dinamo Riga (LAT/KHL)

Marian Hossa, Chicago Blackhawks (NHL)

Tomas Jurco, Detroit Red Wings (NHL)

Tomas Kopecky, Florida Panthers (NHL)

Tomas Marcinko, HC Kosice (SVK)

Michel Miklik, Slovan Bratislava (SVK/KHL)

Peter Ölvecky, Slovan Bratislava (SVK/KHL)

Richard Panik, Tampa Bay Lightning (NHL)

Tomas Surovy, Dynamo Minsk (BLR/KHL)

Tomas Tatar, Detroit Red Wings (NHL)

Tomas Zaborsky, Salavat Yulayev Ufa (RUS)


Back to Overview