International Ice Hockey Federation

Hockey's flag bearers

Hockey's flag bearers

Only Vancouver had more hockey players

Published 08.02.2014 16:19 GMT+4 | Author Andrew Podnieks
Hockey's flag bearers
Zdeno Chara carries the flag for Slovakia during the opening ceremony of the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi. Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images
Last night’s Opening Ceremony featured 88 nations parading into the Olympic stadium to start the 2014 Games, and four of those nations had hockey players.

Only Vancouver four years ago had better puck representation when seven hockeyists held their nation’s flag. Interestingly, the only two female hockey players to act as flag bearers are Canadian. Prior to Hayley Wickenheiser last night, Danielle Goyette carried the flag in 2006.

Additionally, the participation of Vladislav Tretiak in the lighting of the cauldron marked only the third time hockey had been involved. In 2002, the 1980 Miracle on Ice team had the honours in Salt Lake City, and in 2010 it was Wayne Gretzky.

Herewith is a complete history of hockey’s flag bearers.

Chamonix 1924
Canada—Ernie Collett
Sweden—Ruben Rundquist (official)
United States—Clarence "Taffy" Abel

St. Moritz 1928
Canada—Red Porter
Sweden—Viking Harbom (official)

Lake Placid 1932
Canada—Harold “Hack” Simpson
Germany—Martin Schrottle
Poland—Jozef Stogowski

Garmisch-Partenkirchen 1936
Canada—Walter ”Pud” Kitchen
Latvia—Leonids Vedejs

St. Moritz 1948
Canada—Hubert Brooks
Czechoslovakia—Vladimir Zabrodsky

Oslo 1952
Czechoslovakia—Vaclav Bubnik
Switzerland—Uli Poltera

Cortina d’Ampezzo 1956
Czechoslovakia—Vaclav Bubnik

Squaw Valley 1960
Australia—Vic Ekberg
Czechoslovakia—Jan Starsi
Soviet Union—Nikolai Sologubov
Sweden—Einar Granath

Innsbruck 1964
Hungary—Lajos Koutny

Grenoble 1968

Sapporo 1972

Continue reading

Innsbruck 1976
Czechoslovakia—Oldrich Machac
Soviet Union—Vladislav Tretiak

Lake Placid 1980
Czechoslovakia—Bohuslav Ebermann
Japan—Osamu Wakabayashi

Sarajevo 1984
Czechoslovakia—Jiri Kralik
Finland—Jorma Valtonen
Soviet Union—Vladislav Tretiak
Sweden—Mats Waltin

Calgary 1988
Poland—Henryk Gruth

Albertville 1992
Finland—Timo Blomqvist
Poland—Henryk Gruth

Lillehammer 1994
Slovakia—Peter Stastny

Salt Lake 2002
Latvia—Harijs Vitolins
Slovakia—Robert Petrovicky

Turin 2006
Canada—Danielle Goyette
Kazakhstan—Alexander Koreshkov
Latvia—Arturs Irbe

Vancouver 2010
Belarus—Oleg Antonenko
Czech Republic—Jaromir Jagr
Finland—Ville Peltonen
Norway—Tommy Jakobsen
Russia—Alexei Morozov
Slovakia—Zigmund Palffy
Sweden—Peter Forsberg

Sochi 2014
Canada—Hayley Wickenheiser
Latvia—Sandis Ozolins
Slovakia—Zdeno Chara
Slovenia—Tomaz Razingar


Back to Overview