International Ice Hockey Federation

Alfie to lead Tre Kronor

Alfie to lead Tre Kronor

Veteran will make his fifth Olympic appearance in Sochi

Published 07.01.2014 21:30 GMT+4 | Author Adam Steiss
Alfie to lead Tre Kronor
Youth and experience will come together in Sochi, with Daniel Alfredsson (left) and Erik Karlsson (right) making the Swedish Olympic team. Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images
Team Sweden has been named for Sochi 2014. The men’s team will be looking to improve on its fifth-place finish in Vancouver 2010.

Sweden will go for gold with a strong group of core veterans and talented youngsters. The roster will see six returning players from the squad that won it all in Turin 2006: Henrik Lundqvist, Niklas Kronwall, Daniel Alfredsson, Daniel and Henrik Sedin, and Henrik Zetterberg. Alfredsson will be making his fifth Olympic appearance.


All but one of the players (Jimmie Ericsson) are from the NHL. In addition to the players mentioned above, Jonas Gustavsson, Henrik Tallinder, Johnny Oduya, Nicklas Bäckstrom, Loui Eriksson, and Johan Franzén return from the team that played in Vancouver 2010. Two of the Olympic rookies that could make a big impact will be Gabriel Landeskog of the Colorado Avalanche and Erik Karlsson of the Ottawa Senators, both of whom are having excellent seasons with their respective clubs.





Jhonas Enroth, Buffalo Sabres (NHL)

Jonas Gustavsson, Detroit Red Wings (NHL)

Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers (NHL)



Alexander Edler, Vancouver Canucks (NHL)

Oliver Ekman-Larsson, Phoenix Coyotes (NHL)

Jonathan Ericsson, Detroit Red Wings (NHL)

Niklas Hjalmarsson, Chicago Blackhawks (NHL)

Erik Karlsson, Ottawa Senators (NHL)

Niklas Kronwall, Detroit Red Wings (NHL)

Johnny Oduya, Chicago Blackhawks (NHL)

Henrik Tallinder, Buffalo Sabres (NHL)



Daniel Alfredsson, Detroit Red Wings (NHL)

Continue reading

Nicklas Bäckström, Washington Capitals (NHL)

Patrik Berglund, St. Louis Blues (NHL)

Jimmie Ericsson, Skellefteå AIK (SWE)

Loui Eriksson, Boston Bruins (NHL)

Johan Franzén, Detroit Red Wings (NHL)

Carl Hagelin, New York Rangers (NHL)

Marcus Krüger, Chicago Blackhawks (NHL)

Gabriel Landeskog, Colorado Avalanche (NHL)

Daniel Sedin, Vancouver Canucks (NHL)

Henrik Sedin, Vancouver Canucks (NHL)

Jakob Silfverberg, Anaheim Ducks (NHL)

Alexander Steen, St. Louis Blues (NHL)

Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit Red Wings (NHL)


Back to Overview