International Ice Hockey Federation

“Damkronorna” named

“Damkronorna” named

Sweden: Fourth Olympics for “Mirakel” goalie

Published 14.01.2014 17:57 GMT+4 | Author Martin Merk
“Damkronorna” named
Kim Martin Hasson is looking forward to her fourth Olympics. Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images
The Swedish Ice Hockey Association has announced the 21 players who will compete in the Olympic women’s ice hockey tournament in Sochi 2014.

For Kim Martin Hasson, who has been part of 221 international games for Sweden, it will be the fourth Olympics after winning bronze in Salt Lake City 2002 and silver in Turin 2006.

The 27-year-old was one of the heroes in Sweden’s “Mirakel” when the team defeated the United States 3-2 in a shootout in the semi-finals of 2006 to become the first European team to reach the gold medal game of an Olympic women’s ice hockey tournament.

Martin Hasson is still in great shape and leads the Swedish league in save percentage with 95.43%.

For defenceman Emma Eliasson, and forwards Jenni Asserholt and Pernilla Winberg it will be the third Olympic participation.

Winberg has been the team’s top goal scorer in this season’s international games with five markers from 17 games while Anna Borgqvist has had most points, eight (3+5).

However, coach Niclas Högberg will also be counting on more youthful players. Fanny Rask, the sister of Victor Rask, was nominated for Sochi thanks to some strong performances in exhibition games this season despite not having played at a Women’s World Championship with the senior team. Other rookies include Josefine Holmgren and Maria Lindh.

Sara Grahn, Brynäs Gävle (SWE)
Kim Martin Hasson, Linköpings HC (SWE)
Valentina Lizana Wallner, MODO Örnsköldsvik (SWE)

Emilia Andersson, Linköpings HC (SWE)
Lina Bäcklin, Brynäs Gävle (SWE)
Linnea Bäckman, AIK Stockholm (SWE)
Emma Eliasson, Munksund-Skuthamns SK (SWE)
Sofia Engström, Leksands IF (SWE)
Josefine Holmgren, Brynäs Gävle (SWE)
Johanna Olofsson, MODO Örnsköldsvik (SWE)

Continue reading

Jenni Asserholt, Linköpings HC (SWE)
Anna Borgqvist, Brynäs Gävle (SWE)
Erika Grahm, MODO Örnsköldsvik (SWE)
Maria Lindh, MODO Örnsköldsvik (SWE)
Michelle Löwenhielm, AIK Stockholm (SWE)
Emma Nordin, MODO Örnsköldsvik (SWE)
Cecilia Östberg, Leksands IF (SWE)
Fanny Rask, AIK Stockholm (SWE)
Erica Udén Johansson, IF Sundsvall (SWE)
Lina Wester, Leksands IF (SWE)
Pernilla Winberg, Munksund-Skuthamns SK (SWE)


Back to Overview